This Man From Mumbai Publicly Comes Out As Gay Inspiring Millions

Coming out is not easy. And In India, homophobic laws and ignorant society discourage people more to stay in closet. But there are some courageous people who come out boldly with Pride. Himanshu Singh from Mumbai comes out in an inspiring facebook post, encouraging others to come out and take a stand. He made sure to do this on a public platform so as to inspire millions like him. Hats off to you Sir!

Here is an excerpt from his post:

“While I am changing the history here, it is my sincere request to share this message to give courage to those who are still living in shadows. Please do not hesitate in sharing. If you hesitate, I lose. We lose!

When you try to ‘fit’ in, you will disappear.

I am much more than my sexuality. My close friends would know me as a writer. Childhood friends would know me as a painter. I aspire to become a great pianist someday. How does my sexuality define me as an individual? But it is certainly one of the most fundamental part of my being. My sexuality is not a phase, it never was. It is not a disease, it is not a mental disability, it is not a choice, and definitely not a disgrace. I was born this way. I realized it when I was 14. It is so saddening to say that I had to strive for normalcy to be in societal norms all these years. It smothered me for quite a long time. Why do people advice to tell it to only those who matter? Why it has to be hushed and shushed?

There are so many people out there who are still struggling to come out. I just want to give a message that you are not alone and I am with you.

This is the strongest decision of my life. My hands are little cold but the heart is confident. A new man is born today. Life will never be the same from now on. And I am going to love it anyway.
REMEMBER – Your assumptions, lack of knowledge, ignorance and phobias are killing your closeted friends. Everyday! I am so grateful to my parents, my brother, close friends and flatmates who supported me immensely on this. “
India needs more people like Himanshu Singh!

14633007_10153970259370949_2498334285537765484_n

Leave a comment