Karan Johar Talks About His Fear of Coming Out Publicly

“Everybody knows what my sexual orientation is. I don’t need to scream it out. If I need to spell it out, I won’t only because I live in a country where I could possibly be jailed for saying this.”

With the release of his biography, ‘An Unsuitable Boy’, Karan Johar gets candid about his sexuality for the first time. He talks about homophobia he faces everyday in his life. Karan Johar says he won’t come out officially because of section 377 and homophobic bigots.

“The reason I don’t say it out aloud is simply that I don’t want to be dealing with the FIRs. I’m very sorry. I have a job, I have a commitment to my company, to my people who work for me; there are over a hundred people that I’m answerable to. I’m not going to sit in the courts because of ridiculous, completely bigoted individuals who have no education, no intelligence.”

The filmmaker also opened up about the homophobia and the daily abuse he faces on social media. He wrote, “Twitter has the most abuse. I wake up to at least 200 hate posts saying, ‘Get out, you’re polluting our nation, you’re dirtying society’ or ‘Shove [IPC Section] 377 up your arse.’ I get this on a daily basis and I’ve learned to laugh it off.

Coming Out is voluntary and personal. It’s great that KJo has come out casually. This is inspiring. But if he had come out saying, “Yes, I am gay and proud of it”, it would really make a big difference.

Karan Johar, we all love him. He has contributed so much to the Indian society by making progressive and inspirational films on love, family values and Indian culture; and also on homosexuality. But we all want him to come out publicly. Because after that, he will get more love and courage from people than homophobic abuse.

Karan Johar also needs to understand that section 377 doesn’t make you criminal for being openly gay. Yes, this is also a truth that this law empowers homophobic people and  can be used by them for harassing gay people. But it doesn’t mean coming out is very unsafe. Research says closeted people are at higher risk of violence and blackmailing in some cases. There are also those activists, who have come out, fighting homophobia and regressive laws, not for themselves but for the sake of gay community. They are more confident and happier now.

He could do better by coming out publicly. But he has shown much courage by what he’s said.

Buy Karan’s biography at: 

http://www.amazon.in/Unsuitable-Boy-Karan-Johar/dp/067008753X 

Copyright (c) 2017 @GayRightsIndia
Reproducing the above writing is an offence. If you like it, you can share.
Leave a Reply

